RSS

[linux] How to install compilers on Puppy Linux

08 Nov

Recently I have started playing with the Puppy (Puppy Linux 4.3.1, that is). I liked the speed and ease of using it so much that I decided to do a full install on my hard drive. It’s very lightweight and very fast.

However, after the initial phase of likeness, I realized that it is missing a lot of things —- including the build essentials (e.g., gcc).  That means Puppy has trimmed its fat in order to become so lean (the .iso file is about 100 MB)  that it does not have some of the necessary packages — especially the ones, that someone may need to compile packages from the source code if there is a need. However, the default software suit is very nice and useful: I haven’t seen such a good collection in a such a lean size before.

But, the tools I was looking for was not in their repository either. After searching in puppy forums, I realized that I need a package called devx-431.sfs [download link].  But for a hard puppy (a full installation of puppy on the hard drive) it is a special case if you want to install a .sfs file —- which I had a hard time figuring out skimming through various posts in the forum (which are very old by the way!).

However, it is explained in the main website in a very clear fashion (I wish I looked there first!).

1. Click on the devx_xxx.sfs in a ROX-Filer window to mount it.
2. Open a terminal in the mounted directory.
3. # cp -a --remove-destination ./* /mnt/hda2/
4. # sync
5. Close the terminal.
6. Click on the devx_xxx.sfs file to unmount it

Note, the ‘–remove-destination’ option is essential. If you only use ‘-f’ to force overwrite, it will follow (dereference) a symlink, that can cause unexpected overwrites.

I had a problem performing the second step. If you save the devx_xxx.sfs file in the /root directory (which is startup directory, i.e. if you do a “cd ~” you’ll reach there), then the mounted directory will look like “+root+devx_xxx.sfs/”. Just cd to there in the console and follow the next steps above.

Credit: here.

Further reading: Lifehacker’s review.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 8, 2009 in linux

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “[linux] How to install compilers on Puppy Linux

  1. Sully Sadface

    November 29, 2009 at 7:42 PM

    And here I was, thinking it was like DamnSmallLinux and came without a compiler. Shame on me.

     
    • kousik

      February 10, 2010 at 4:54 AM

      I got bored pretty quickly with DSL, but I fell in love with Puppy. (Note to me: give some more time to DSL!) :)

       
  2. bc

    July 3, 2010 at 10:02 PM

    I find puppy is interesting, it is quite foriegn and lot of info not mentioned for a newbie like myself. Few things I found is that you must have a pc that will boot from a CD, and that size of processor doesn’t matter as much as amount of ram memory, bogs down with 128megs. The connection to internet needs a router to talk to. To open up a terminal, what are you clicking, and when I try to download a module I loads onto my screen instead of dialogue to save to a folder. Great idea.

     
  3. China Mike

    May 18, 2011 at 5:14 AM

    Hi! In regards to your post about installing the sfs devx file(s) to a Puppy Hard install (I think I saw that called “system2″ type somewhere), I had trouble as well, but not too much.

    What I did wrong was, I was trying to follow those same instructions, trying to “mnt” an already mounted drive! LMAO

    I realized that I couldn’t be actually doing this install procedure from my working partition, so I rebooted, went into another version of Puppy on another partition, followed the HD puppy install procedure for devx.sfs and THEN it worked fine!

    I am still pretty new at all this, been a Win XX user for years and only now I am playing with/enjoying/hating Linux! ;)

    All the best and thanks for your post, it was the ONE that clued me in to what I was doing wrong.

     
  4. Anton

    January 26, 2012 at 9:50 PM

    Other option to install DEVX (when running from hd) is to use “Utility->SFS Installer for Full Install”. Seems to work fine…

     
    • kousik

      January 31, 2012 at 10:30 AM

      I haven’t tried it myself. Thanks a lot for the info.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

